I’m A Virgin

Yes you read that right.

I’m a 25 year old, married, virgin!

Hair virgin that is.

My dad and his side of the family have the fullest and healthiest heads of hair, but my mom’s side not so much. Guess which side’s genetics I got? Of course, mom’s… because life is unfair!

Ever since my teenage years, I have always suffered from dry, split ends and lots of breakage. Every time I run my fingers through my hair, a clump of hair has to come out. OK maybe I’m exaggerating a bit… On top of all that, my hair is as flat as a pancake! DSC00960

Because I can see my hair future every time I look at my mom, and it’s not the greatest to be honest, I’d decided a long time ago to stay a hair virgin. What does that mean you ask? Allow me to explain it and the reasons for my decision.

Being a hair virgin means to never dye your hair or use harsh chemical treatments on it. Even though I partially highlighted my hair (just a few strands) once, I would never dye it until I really have to (when I get white hairs). Although I’d really love to switch up my hair color every now and then, dyeing my hair would cause more harm then good.

All those harsh chemicals lead to increased hair damage and loss. Same goes to other chemical treatments. I also stay away from blow drying (except in winter) and hair ironing as much as possible. Heat in general and direct heat in specific seriously damages hair follicles.

Because I have such bad hair, I always take, or at least try to take care of it. The best hair mask in my opinion, is all natural coconut oil. Apply it at once a week or more, for at least 45-60 mins. Your hair will look & feel healthy while staying silky and beautiful. The more you use coconut oil, the more permanent its effects.

DSC02894For the past month, I have been using John Freida Brunettes shampoo and been loving it. It brought out all of my hair’s undertones, lowlights and highlights. After only one use I saw some results. Even R noticed immediatly that my hair’s natural highlights were much more visible. If you’re thinking of adding highlights or lowlights to your hair, I recommend checking John Freida’s line before dyeing your hair.

A good conditioner is a must for healthy hair. I just started using OGX Hydrate + Repair Argan Oil of Morocco Conditioner to help heal and nourish my damaged hair.

I also use SheaMoisture Strengthen, Grow & Restore Edge Treatment, Jamaican Black Castor Oil to keep my hair healthy and strong. It’s such a good product and a small portion goes a really long way. Of course, when I occasionally blow dry or use a curling iron, I always use a heat protectant. My favorite is TRESemme Thermal Creations Heat Tamer Protective Spray. It smells good, doesn’t weigh my hair down and I truly feel it helps reduce the heat damage on my hair.

I know a lot of people that started dyeing their hair young and really abuse it with flat irons and so on, and by the time they’re mid twenties their hair becomes damaged beyond repair. Your hair needs as much attention as your skin. Know your hair type and it’s problems and aim to fix them sooner rather than later.

Do you also suffer from damaged and thin hair? What’s your favorite hair mask and treatments? Let me know in the comments.

I’d love to connect with you on Instagram & Twitter!

XoXo,

Tamara

15 thoughts on “I’m A Virgin

  1. I suffer from broken hair too! Luckily I as well use coconut oil. When I get the coconut oil out of my hair to shower, I use an apple cider vinegar rinse. It’s so amazing.

  2. I loved this post! My hair is not terribly damaged, but most definitely thin, fine, + flat. Unfortunately, I *have* to dye it…I’ve got too many pesky whites 😦 Like you, I’m a minimal hot tool user, but I haven’t done coconut oil mask before! Your hair really looks amazing – I’m going to try incorporating a weekly mask!

  3. I have the same problem! My hair is damaged and thinning from excessive heat styling, hair dye, and health concerns so I rely on hair mask; I’m currently using the Loreal Oleo Therapy Deep Recovery Mask. I totally agree that we have to fix the issue earlier rather than later. Let’s aim to not be bald haha

    Vicky
    http://vickysscrapbook.com/

  4. Pingback: January Favorites

Leave a Reply

