SEPHORA+PANTONE UNIVERSE – Review

Sephora collaborated with Pantone Universe to create a whole new line of eye shadow palettes, lipsticks and lip glosses. The line is heavily geared towards pastels colors with some bright colors here and there. Every year Pantone Universe selects it’s annual colors and this year they’re the Rose Quartz & Serenity,which are both featured in the line. The Rose Quartz is a blush pink and the Serenity is a blush purply blue.

1

At first look, I was a little intimidated by all the “unusual” colors… Yellow lip gloss so on and so forth. Nonetheless, makeup should be a fun way to express yourself. So I decided to take the leap and get the eyeshadow palette and the lip gloss kit.

The SEPHORA+PANTONE UNIVERSE Modern Watercolors Eyes Palette has some of the most beautiful packaging I’ve seen. The top looks like an amazing abstract painting. It’s sturdy and comes with a big mirror, which I find very useful. Don’t you just hate a palette (especially eyeshadow palettes) that have no mirror?

2

The palette comes with 24 shimmer and matte colorful shades, mostly cool toned. Unfortunately, the colors’ vibrance doesn’t translate well on the skin. Even when layering the eyeshadows again and again, it seems there is no result at all. For some reason, when you apply them, even the brightest shade looks like a very pale grey.

DSC02723

I tried recreating Victoria’s NYE look from inthefrow, but I failed miserably. I couldn’t get any pigmentation whatsoever on my eyelids. As you can see in the photos. Can you believe I’m wearing a blue, green, pink and yellow eyeshadows?!!! I almost don’t!

DSC02724

Disclaimer: All the pictures of this post haven’t been retouched, not in the slightest way. Even the exposure has stayed the same. I just exported them from my camera and uploaded them here, so you can see the true result.

Not only is the pigmentation very sad on these eyeshadows, but they’re also impossible to blend. It was one of the hardest eyeshadow palettes that I’ve ever worked with.

DSC02712

Same thing with the lip glosses. Even though in the tube they look impeccably pigmented and vibrant, on the lips they’re almost translucent with the tiniest hint of color.

3

I was honestly a little afraid of wearing a bright orange lipstick, so I decided to mix it with the pale pink. On the lips though they both looked almost identically transparent (check pictures above)!

I was very excited when I first saw this line, but unfortunately it was one of the most disappointing in recent memory. Even though it’s slightly pricey for the usual Sephora brand, they’re the worst thing Sephora has come up with. Don’t bother with it, it’s hugely disappointing.

What’s your favorite “colorful” eyeshadow palette? All the palettes that I own currently tend to be on the nude/natural side. I’m looking for a “fun” palette for spring & summer. Any recommendations? Let me know your favorite in the comments below!

Let’s connect on Twitter & Instagram.

XoXo,

Tamara

 

 

9 thoughts on “SEPHORA+PANTONE UNIVERSE – Review

  1. I keep hearing horrible things on these, so dissapointing because the package is beutiful and I love the concept! 😦 Right now I have been obsessed over Coastal Scents palettes, they are comparable to MAC shadows but half the price. Smashbox master palettes also go on really nicely!

      1. These ones are are exclusive to Birchbox right now. You can purchase an individual palette or all 3. Don’t need an Birchbox account to purchase either. But they do have bigger palettes with a wide range of colour on the coastal scents site, comparable to mac shadows but less than half the price !
        Thanks for stopping by ❤️

  2. I tend to have very neutral and nude color palettes too. I saw this Sephora+Pantone palette at Sephora the other day and the colors are really beautiful. I thought about purchasing it but I don’t know if i would ever wear them haha

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

