Acne No More

Let’s talk acne, shall we?

Teen me would’ve thought that acne won’t be a topic I’d still be discussing at 25, but here we are discussing it!DSC00591

In my teen years, I suffered from mild facial acne. When I got to around 21 years old, my body started changing and so did my hormones (thankfully) which helped my face clear up. That being said, I still get the occasional breakout mostly caused by either products or that time of the month where my skin feels kinda bumpy…

So after all the samples I’ve tried this year, I’ve found these products and the tricks below work best for my skin when fighting acne… Yes fighting, it’s a war!!!DSC00576First of all, CLEAN SKIN! I can’t stress this step enough! I cleanse my skin twice a day rigorously. Once I wake up and before going to bed. Cleaning is so important that even if you think it’s relatively clean, clean it again! Skin produces oil (specially at night), which can clog the pores and cause acne. I have been using the Caudalie Instant Foaming Cleanser for a year or so now and I love it. Before that I would use the Neutrogena Oil Free Acne Wash. Make sure to use a gentle cleanser that won’t dry out your skin.

DSC00575

Second step is exfoliating. If you have mild or severe acne you should be really careful when exfoliating (the skin is already irritated which can cause scaring). Exfoliating will scrub away dead skin cells and the deep dirt which will make your skin extra clean and smooth. I use the Target beauty skin care facial cleansers Garnier® Clean + Blackhead Eliminating Scrub For Oily Skin for my nose area where I have blackheads, and Clearasil Ultra Rapid Action Pads for the rest of my face. I only use this once every other day or so.

DSC00579

Third step is toning. You guys know I love my all natural and organic rose water toner. Recently though, I have been trying an apple cider vinegar DIY toner (I’ll keep you updated on the results). You can use any alcohol free toner. Alcohol will dry out your skin badly, and mess with it’s texture (you don’t want that, trust me).

Forth step, moisturizer! Yeah, oily skin needs to be moisturized too. Just make sure to pick up an oil free moisturizer (for acne prone skin, you should buy only oil free make up and skin care products). If you have mild or severe acne, not just a zit or two, Clean & Clear Dual Action Moisturizer is a great choice. Not only does it hydrate skin but it also contains salicylic acid which actually fights acne. Though make sure not to mix it with other acne products.

DSC00585

Fifth is the Clean & Clear Acne Spot Treatment. This product is great when you have a zit popping out of nowhere. I get these mostly before my period, and the acne spot treatment helps in reducing redness. It won’t make the zit magically disappear in 4 hours (like it claims), but it will help getting rid of it faster.

Lastly, I use Avene Triacneal at night to help prevent acne breakouts and blemishes. I was prescribed this by a dermatologist, and have been using it for more than 4 years now.

You can also use masks, specially are the clay masks. Clay is great for absorbing all the impurities from the skin, leaving it clean from the inside out. My favorites are the Caudalie Instant Detox Mask & the Boots Botanics Shine Away Ionic Clay Mask.
Disclaimer: These are the products that work best for me! Each person has different skin types and conditions. What works for me won’t necessarily work for others. This is my personal experience that I thought I’d share with you. Don’t use any of these products without consulting with your dermatologist.

Only a few days left until the winner of the Epic Holiday Giveaway is announced!

Let’s connect on Twitter and Instagram!

XoXo,

Tamara

8 thoughts on “Acne No More

Leave a Reply

