My Little Creativity Corner – Styling Your Desk

If like me, you’re working from home, then you know the struggle to get yourself motivated and not lazy. It can be tricky to get yourself going from the comfort of your own home. There’s a ton of distractions all around you, specially that naughty warm fluffy bed that keeps calling your name.

One of my best motivators is having a work desk dedicated to my blogging and some studying too. When you treat your work from home job like a “real” 9-to-5 job, it gets easier to stay motivated to work. Having a designated place to do your work at home, will help you get into that mindset.

DSC00478

And just like any other job, you should have a specific time dedicated to it. Decide how much you should set aside on a daily basis for your job and put a timetable that you can & will stick to it. Let’s say you should do at least 4 hrs of work a day, plan your day around that instead of planing your work around your chores, gym, etc…

DSC00496

Personally, nothing helps to really motivate better than a pretty office, I did major in interior design at the end of the day. What’s so nice about having a home desk is that you can customize and style it just the way you like it.

Because I’m very into white furniture at this moment, and our apartment is rather small, I wanted white everything (white gives an illusion that an area looks much more spacious than it really is). I’ve added some black and rose gold accents for a little contrast.

DSC00512

You don’t have to spend a ton of money to get a beautiful and chic space. Hit your local thrift store for some great finds, like this gorgeous painting that I got for $4!

DSC00489

Personalize your desk with little accessories that reflect your passions and your style. In my case, I styled it with this vintage camera that R got from a antique store in Napa 2 years ago (in case you don’t know, one of my passions and hobbies is photography, check my portfolio here!)

DSC00514

Throw in some books, a table light and some candles to make it a little more fashionable!

DSC00508

Of course, a picture of your loved one on your desk is a great way to brighten up even the most hectic of work days.

DSC00485

To keep the desk neat and tidy, I store my notebooks, pens, sticky notes, headphones and nail filer in the drawer.

DSC00516

Don’t forget to add some flowers or a cute succulent to bring the desk to life!

 

5 thoughts on “My Little Creativity Corner – Styling Your Desk

  1. I am currently dreaming up a home office for myself! I love your little tips, especially adding flowers and photos of your loved ones. Your space looks amazing- so clean and organized!

Leave a Reply

